How to show the forms library item data to which workflow is attached in the infopath based task form

I have an infopath forms library list in my SharePoint site. (Forms library is basically a document library whose content type is of InfoPath forms type or xml document type) This list holds the request forms which end users submit using the browser based infopath form.

I have my custom workflow developed in VS 2005 attached to the abvoe forms/document library. My custom workflow has couple of task forms developed using InfoPath again, which the reviewer and approver uses to approve/re-assign/reject the request form.

My question is how to show the whole request forms data preferably with the same design and structure within the task forms. So here I am trying to show the request form which is a infopath form in a task form which is again another infopath form. May be atleast a readonly view of the request form will also suffice.

This helps the reviewer and the approver to see the client request within the task form and take the decision to approver or reject or re-assign.

I hope I am clear with my question. Please let me know your comments and a direction to go around to solve this. Thanks a lot guys🙂

5 Responses

  1. svarukala.is your problem solved?

  2. Chandrika, unfortunately No. I didn’t get any help yet regarding my question.
    Only thing possible is to show some of the information from the form submitted by the user in the task forms but not the whole form. For the time being I convinced my client with that.

  3. svarukala,

    If I’m understanding your problem correctly, you basically want to show the same structure of the submitted form within the workflow form itself?

    I haven’t tried to do anything like that, but I’m wondering if it would be possible to create the initial form as a Template Part, then embed the template part into your submitted form, and include the same template part into the workflow form. Then pull out the workflow data and populate the template part controls? Again, I have no idea if that would work, but it was the first thing that came to mind.

    Gary

  4. Gary,
    Thanks for your input. Your idea definitely makes sense and technically it should work if implemented. I am not if this is feasible in my case, because I have nearly 100 such forms and I should show the forms data in the workflow task form based on the original form. But, I really liked the idea and I would definitely spend some time in that direction.

    I have another tentative solution to solve my problem, i.e to design a custom aspx web form which has two seperate xmlviewer web part so that i can insert two infopath forms in one page…

    Lot of work to do!

  5. my requirement is to write code for the infopath Task form Template which is already uploaded into the sharepoint site.any help? thnx in advnc.

Leave a Reply

